Settings

B

To access the settings screen, choose the Settings option in the main menu.

Picasa for Android menu - Settings

Photo Browsing

Photo Browsing section

This section allows you to choose an optimal size for your online Picasa photos, when you are browsing through them in the Web Photo Browser.

A larger photo size will result in a better quality of the displayed photo, but it will also use more bandwith. A smaller photo size will result in a lower quality of the displayed photo, but it will allow you to save some bandwith.

Note: This settings is meant to help you save bandwith and it will not affect the quality of your uploads and downloads (uploads and downloads are always in full resolution). If the displayed photo is larger than your Android device's resolution, you will only wasting bandwith without making a difference in terms of quality.

Camera Menu settings

Camera Menu settings

Upload current location

If this setting is checked, your current location will be uploaded to Picasa with every picture you take using the Camera option. In order for this to work, your Android phone must be capable of providing location information, through GPS, cell tower triangulation or any other means.

Save local copies

If this setting is checked, a local copy will be created for every picture you take using the Camera option. The local copy will be saved at /sdcard/DCIM/Camera/. Also, if the camera direct upload fails for any reason, a local copy will be automatically created.

Please note that, in order for this to work, your Android device must have either a physical SD card or an emulated one.

Native camera app

If this setting is checked, the camera app that comes with your Android phone will be used instead. This may be useful if you need some feature that only exists in the default phone camera app.

Auto Uploads

Auto-upload settings

Upload photos from other apps

If this option is enabled, the app will run in background and periodically check for new photos to upload to your default Picasa album.

Note: In order to avoid uploading a huge number of local photos to your Picasa album, only the photos taken after this option was enabled will be uploaded.

Upload interval

This option allows you to set how often PicsPro for Picasa will search for new photos and upload them.

WiFi only

If this option is enabled, the app will auto-upload photos when your Android device is connected to a WiFi network. This helps you reduce the bandwith usage on your wireless plan.

Account options

Starting with version 2.0, PicsPro for Picasa uses your Android phone's Google account(s) as the default option for accessing your Picasa web albums and photos. This improves security, because you don't have to enter a password.

Account settings

If this option is checked, PicsPro for Picasa will use the accounts you defined in your phone's Settings application, under Accounts & sync / Manage Accounts / Google, as shown below. (The icons may differ, depending on your phone's brand and OS version.)

Settings app

Accounts & sync

Manage accounts / Google

Important: The first time you access a web resource (ex.: Web Albums) in this mode, Android will present you with an Access Request dialog like below. You must click the Allow button if you want your app to work in this mode.

Android access request